Shortly after I started CrossFit, I wrote into the Everyday Paleo Lifestyle and Fitness Podcast asking why I wasn’t able to sleep after WODs. Check out the podcast here. I was just having a hard time sleeping through the night and I felt really restless. I was also just sore all the time! Pretty normal after CrossFit though. A few things I realized after listening to my question on the podcast…At that time I was in the beginner class, which met at 7pm. By the time I got home, it was usually around 8:30pm. I wouldn’t eat dinner until 9 or after, then go to bed around 10:30pm. After I switched to an earlier class, I was sleeping much better. Working out late has never worked for me-I get too ramped up and it’s hard to wind down. Also, focusing on recovery and mobility has helped a lot with the soreness.

My post-WOD recovery looks like this: Stretching with bands and on my own (I stretch out pretty much every body part: Legs, arms, stomach, back, neck, hips…Check out a great stretching routine here), rolling out with a foam roller, using a lacrosse ball to roll out tense parts in my back and hips, and keeping moving (while it’s so temping to plop on the couch, keep moving for a little bit after your WOD prevents stiffness). Nutrition wise, I usually drink a protein drink right after I work out (I’m not huge on liquid nutrition, but it makes me feel great after I work out). I’m using a raw protein powder, which tastes horrible, but I’m still working on finding something without chemicals that tastes good. I also drink a lot of water, have a cup of hot water with lemon, and if I’m really sore, take an extra dose of fermented cod liver oil. About a hour or two after a WOD, I eat a meal with protein, starchy carbs, and veggies. Adding in more carbs after I work out has helped me feel more energetic and has made me feel better in general (important since I have thyroid issues). Also, I make sure I don’t go into a WOD starving. That’s never a good feeling! I’ve seen improvements in how fast I recover since I started this post-WOD routine, and also noticed I’m building more muscle then I ever have.

Alright. Time for some Paleo dessert 🙂 Try this cake out…it’s pretty much the best thing ever.

