Recently I began using Chris Kresser’s Personal Paleo Code. I’ve been Paleo for awhile now, but still feel like something isn’t quite right. I am working to improve my thyroid and autoimmune function, so I’ve decided to seek more help and support through the program and Meal Plan Generator. Meal planning has been crucial, and this week I’m focusing on refining my Paleo diet.

Before I get into the meal planning discussion I just wanted to note that the Personal Paleo Code has been an amazing resource and was great at simply explaining…well, everything! I consider myself pretty well versed in nutrition and Paleo nutrition in general, but I learned a lot from the manual of each of the 3 steps of the program. I also love the additional resources that come with the program which are mostly helpful cheat sheets I plan to post in my kitchen.

Ok, now on to meal planning! Over the past few months I’ve been planning our meals each week and shopping once a week to get everything we’ll need to be successful that week (well, for me to be successful. My fiancee, Ray, isn’t quite on the Paleo bandwagon yet.). I plan for breakfasts and dinners, looking for recipes that will give plenty of leftovers for my lunch. I’m regularly browsing all sorts of blogs, so I keep track of all my Paleo recipes on my Pinterest page. Pinterest has been amazing to organize and keep track of recipes I find, so usually when I’m planning for the week I’ll comb through my board and choose whatever looks yummy for that week. Then, I go through recipe and make a list of everything I need. We don’t keep extra food around (except for things like onions and carrots), so I usually have to buy most of my ingredients fresh. This process will change a bit once we start receiving our weekly farm share in June. In that case, I’ll see what we get for the week and search for recipes with those ingredients. Either way, I end up with a list of ingredients and a list of recipes. I take the list of ingredients to the store, and post the list of recipes on our fridge so we never have to wonder what to have for dinner. After we do a recipe, it gets crossed off.

A couple tips:
-Generally try to find recipes that use similar ingredients through the week, so you can buy ingredients and use them in more than one recipe.
-I like some spontaneity, but I have a few recipes each week I know I’ll make on certain days. If I have CrossFit on Tuesday and Thursday and won’t get home until after 7, I’ll put something in the crock pot in the morning or plan a quick meal/leftovers for that day.
-Try to take an hour or two to prep everything you can for the week. Usually, Ray and I can power through cutting veggies and getting recipes assembled for the week in an hour. I store cut up veggies in leftover plastic lettuce containers, and if I can, assemble whole meals in large mason jars (this works especially well for crockpot meals).

Now, what to eat? These meals are on our plan this week:

Breakfast:
Chicken Soup
Butternut Squash Porridge with Strawberries
Chocolate Chia Pudding

Dinner:
Baked Chicken with Artichokes, Mashed Potatoes and Roasted Brussels Sprouts
Honey Glazed Chicken and Bacon Bites, Garlic Sauteed Kale
Crockpot Chicken, Sweet Potato, and Kale Stew
Sweet Caveman Pie
Sage Stew with Pumpkin and Cherries
Chicken Soup
Chicken Drumsticks, Whipped Sweet Potatoes with Coconut Milk, Garlic Sauteed Kale
Baked Sweet Potatoes Stuffed with Veggies and Sausage, adapted by me from this recipe

*If recipe is not linked, then recipe is created by me.
**If recipe has dairy, sugar etc. they will be omitted.
***I don’t plan snacks because I rarely snack!

There you have it! Simple and easy, a little planning goes a long way for me. I would never be able to do this unless I planned out my week. Can’t wait to eat these tasty recipes!

